Music Theory Midwest January 2017 Newsletter

In this issue:

- Twenty-Eighth Annual Conference Announcement and Call for Papers
- Membership Reminder
- 2017 Elections: Call for Nominations

Music Theory Midwest

Twenty-Eighth Annual Conference University of Iowa Iowa City, Iowa May 19-20, 2017

CALL FOR PAPERS

SUBMISSION DEADLINE: Sunday, January 17, 2017

KEYNOTE INFO

This year's keynote address will be given by Nolan and is entitled "Anton Webern's Late Music in the Context of Postmodern Modernism." Catherine Nolan is Associate Dean (Graduate Studies) in music at the Don Wright Faculty of Music at the University of Western Ontario. Her research interests focus on theoretical, analytical, and critical issues surrounding modernist music of the twentieth century, particularly the late music of Anton Webern, Webern's creative partnership with poet (and painter) Hildegard Jone, and on the history and timeless expression of mathematical models in music theory. Her publications have appeared in *Journal of Music Theory, Music Theory Spectrum, Music Theory Online, Journal of Mathematics and Music*, and in edited collections, including *The Cambridge History of Western Music Theory, The Princeton Companion to Mathematics.* Her essay on Canada's first serial composer, John Weinzweig, appeared in *Weinzweig: Essays on His Life and Music.*

WORKSHOP

Information about the workshop will be announced in the next newsletter.

Music Theory Midwest invites scholars from all geographic regions to submit proposals on any area of music theory and analysis for our annual conference.

As is traditional at MTMW, we encourage proposals on composers, musicians, and events with significant anniversaries in 2017, and we welcome proposals for special sessions devoted to these or any other particular topic.

Notable anniversaries in 2017:

1517: Gioseffo Zarlino born; passing of Heinrich Isaac.

1567: Claudio Monteverdi born.

1717: Premiere of Handel's Water Music.

1767: Passing of Georg Philipp Telemann.

1917: Passing of Scott Joplin.

1937: Philip Glass born; passing of Maurice Ravel.

1967: Kurt Cobain, Billy Corgan, and Dave Matthews born; anniversary of The Beatles *Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band* and the Monterey Pop Festival.

PROPOSAL GUIDELINES AND SUBMISSIONS INSTRUCTIONS

INDIVIDUAL PRESENTATIONS: Papers should be planned for twenty minutes followed by ten minutes for questions. In some cases the program committee may recommend that a proposal be presented as a poster. Submitters may indicate a preference to present their work in a poster session. Papers should not have been previously presented at national or international conferences nor previously published. Only one proposal per submitter will be considered.

Proposals should be submitted electronically via the MTMW website at http://www.mtmw.org/index.php/conferences/onlinesubmissions. Submissions are due no later than January 17, 2017. The online form serves as the cover letter, while the proposal and any supplemental materials are to be submitted as a single document in .pdf format. The proposal should not exceed 500 words, including any footnotes or endnotes but not including the title. A maximum of four pages of supplementary materials (such as musical examples, diagrams, and bibliography) may be appended, and are excluded from the word count, but these materials should not appreciably add to the proposal's content. The proposal must include the title of the paper but exclude the author's name and any other identifying information, including in the metadata of the electronic file.

SPECIAL SESSIONS: Proposals for Special Sessions have no specific page limit and should include the names of the organizer and all participants. Special sessions should be organized such that the program committee could not create them from separately submitted individual proposals. Anyone wishing to propose a special session should contact the program chair (Leslie David Blasius, lblasius@wisc.edu) well in advance of the proposal deadline.

KOMAR AWARD: The Arthur J. Komar Award for best student paper will be presented at the conclusion of the meeting. Student presenters who wish to be considered for this award must indicate their eligibility in the online submission form. For the purposes of this award, "student" status terminates with the receipt of a terminal degree or employment in a full-time position. Additional information and a list of past recipients can be found at the MTMW website (mtmw.org).

NOTIFICATION: Those submitting proposals will receive notification of the program committee's decision by early March.

2017 PROGRAM COMMITTEE:

Leslie David Blasius, chair (University of Wisconsin-Madison), lblasius@wisc.edu
Julian Hook (Indiana University)
Rebecca Perry (Yale University)
Steven Cahn (University of Cincinnati)
Aleksandra Vojcic (University of Michigan)
Daniel Barolsky (Beloit College)
Lawrence Zbikowski (University of Chicago) ex-officio as MTMW President

2017 LOCAL ARRANGEMENTS:

Matthew Arndt (University of Iowa)

MEMBERSHIP REMINDER

If your membership has expired, please consider renewing your membership in MTMW at this time. The financial well-being of the society relies on a consistent membership base. Membership renewal is currently available at http://www.mtmw.org. Conference registration will be available in early 2017.

2017 ELECTIONS: CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

During 2017, the terms of President, Treasurer, Area I Representative (KY, MI, OH, Western ON), Area III Representative (IA, MN, NE, ND, SD, MB), and Student Representative for Areas II and IV (IL, IN, WI; MO, KS, OK, AR, TN) will expire. The Nominating Committee will develop a slate of candidates. Nominations (including self-nominations) are welcome. Qualified nominees should be music theorists who teach or are otherwise engaged in theory studies in the Midwest United States, or appropriate regions in Canada. Area representatives must reside and/or teach in the areas that they represent. Student representatives should be engaged in graduate studies and should expect to continue their student status for at least one year after taking office. Students may not serve as officers or area representatives. All officers of the Executive Committee are expected to attend plenary sessions and the business meeting at the annual conference. Further information concerning the duties of Executive Committee Officers and election procedures is available at http://www.mtmw.org/index.php/about-mtmw/bylaws.

Please send nominations for the above offices to Larry Zbikowski (larry@uchicago.edu) on or before January 17, 2017.

We look forward to seeing everyone in Iowa City this spring!

Respectfully submitted,

Haley Beverburg Reale, for the Executive Board:

President: Larry Zbikowski (University of Chicago): larry@uchicago.edu

Secretary: Haley Beverburg Reale: <u>haleybee@gmail.com</u>

Treasurer: Arnie Cox (Oberlin College & Conservatory): <u>arnie.cox@oberlin.edu</u>

Area I Representative: John Cuciurean (University of Western Ontario)

Area II Representative: Blair Johnston (Indiana University)

Area III Representative: Gretchen Foley (University of Nebraska-Lincoln)

Area IV Representative: Dave Easley (Oklahoma City University)

Student Representative, Areas I/III: Jesse Kinne (University of Cincinnati) Student Representative, Areas II/IV: Devin Chaloux (Indiana University)