MUSIC THEORY MIDWEST FALL 2009 NEWSLETTER

In this issue:

- Twenty-first Annual Conference Announcement and Call for Papers
- Membership Reminder
- 2010 Elections: Call for Nominations

CALL FOR PAPERS

TWENTY-FIRST ANNUAL CONFERENCE Miami University, Oxford, OH May 14–15, 2010

(Submission Deadline: Friday, January 15, 2010)

The Program Committee invites proposals for individual presentations on any area of music theory and analysis. Music Theory Midwest also has a tradition of encouraging papers on composers, musicians, or compositions celebrating significant anniversaries in the year of the conference and welcomes proposals for special sessions devoted to a particular topic. Among those with anniversaries in 2010 are: Johann Joseph Fux (b. 1660), Johann Kuhnau (b. 1660), Alessandro Scarlatti (b. 1660), Giovanni Battista Pergolesi (b. 1710), Luigi Cherubini (b. 1760), Ole Bull (b. 1810), Frédéric François Chopin (b. 1810), Robert Schumann (b. 1810), Hugo Wolf (b. 1860), Gustav Mahler (b. 1860), Ignacy Paderewski (b. 1860), Samuel Barber (b. 1910).

Please read the following instructions carefully. Submissions not conforming to these requirements will not be considered.

Individual Presentations:

Papers should be planned for presentation in twenty minutes, followed by ten minutes for questions. A proposal for an individual presentation consists of two separate parts:

- a. The *cover letter* should list the author's name and email address, the paper title, and any special equipment required for the presentation. If the submitter wishes to be considered for the Komar Award (see below), this should be indicated in the cover letter.
- b. The *abstract* should not exceed 500 words and must be anonymous. Supplementary materials such as musical examples and diagrams may be included and do not count toward the word limit, but should not exceed two additional pages.

Paper Submissions:

Send one cover letter and six copies of the abstract, postmarked on or before **January 15**.

2010, to:

Karen M. Bottge

Program Chair, MTMW 2010 School of Music 105 Fine Arts Building University of Kentucky Lexington, KY 40506-0022

Electronic Submissions:

Electronic submissions are due on or before **January 15**, **2010.** The cover letter information is entered directly into an online form. The abstract must be in .PDF format. No other file formats will be accepted. Examples/diagrams may be included in the same .PDF file with the abstract, or sent as separate .PDF files; if multiple files are submitted, all should be submitted at the same time. Authors are responsible for producing files that will display and print clearly, and for ensuring that the files contain no indication of authorship (including file names). Go to Online Submissions: http://www.wmich.edu/mus-theo/mtmw/submit/.

Special Sessions:

Proposals for Special Sessions are encouraged. These are exempt from the word limit and will not be anonymous; the names of the organizer and all participants should be included in the proposal. Special Sessions should be unified in a way that is not normally characteristic of sessions assembled by the Program Committee from individually submitted papers. Anyone wishing to propose a Special Session is asked to contact the Program Chair via email at karen.bottge@uky.edu well in advance of the proposal deadline.

Komar Student Award:

The Arthur J. Komar Award for best student paper will be presented at the conclusion of the meeting. Student presenters who wish to be considered for this award must identify this in their cover letters. For the purposes of this award, "student" status terminates with the receipt of a terminal degree or employment in a full-time position. Additional information about the Komar Award can be found at: <www.wmich.edu/mus-theo/mtmw/komar.html>.

Notification:

Those submitting proposals will receive notice of the Program Committee's decision by late February, when the preliminary program for the conference is assembled. Those whose proposals are accepted will be asked at this time to submit a 250-word abstract suitable for publication in the program booklet. In some cases, the Program Committee may request that a presentation be given in a format other than the usual twenty-minute paper. Music Theory Midwest expects that those who submit proposals will be able to attend the conference. If at any time after submitting a proposal you learn that you will be unable to be present on May 14-15, 2010, please contact the Program Chair immediately to withdraw your proposal from consideration. Please do not wait until the Committee's decisions are announced; doing so could cause complications affecting the entire conference program.

MTMW 2010 Program Committee:

Chair, Karen M. Bottge (University of Kentucky), karen.bottge@uky.edu

Timothy Best (Indiana University)
Jason Britton (Luther College)
Kevin Holm-Hudson (University of Kentucky)
Julian Hook (Indiana University), *ex officio* (as MTMW President)
Jan Miyake (Oberlin College Conservatory)

MTMW 2010 Local Arrangements:

Claire Boge (Miami University), bogecl@muohio.edu

MEMBERSHIP REMINDER

Every effort has been made to send this electronic newsletter to all current members of Music Theory Midwest. If you know persons who have not received this newsletter, please pass it along and encourage them to check their membership status with Gretchen Foley (gfoley2@unl.edu).

Annual dues are \$20 for regular membership, \$30 for joint membership, \$15 for emeritus membership, and \$10 for students. Donations to the Arthur J. Komar Student Award are always welcome. A membership form appears at the end of this newsletter.

2010 ELECTIONS: CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

During 2010, the terms of Secretary, Area II Representative (IL, IN, WI), Area IV Representative (MO, KS, OK, AR, TN), and Student Representative for Areas I and III (KY, MI, OH, IA, MN, NE, ND, SD) will expire. The Executive Board will appoint a nominating committee to develop a slate of candidates. Nominations (including self-nominations) are welcome. Qualified nominees should be music theorists who teach or are otherwise engaged in theory studies in the Midwest. Area representatives must reside and/or teach in the areas that they represent. Student representatives should be engaged in graduate studies and should expect to continue their student status for at least one year after taking office. Students may not serve as officers or area representatives. All officers of the Executive Committee are expected to attend plenary sessions and the business meeting at the annual conference. Further information concerning the duties of Executive Committee Officers and election procedures is available on the MTMW web site at http://www.wmich.edu/mus-theo/mtmw/.

Please send nominations for the above offices to Nicole Biamonte, Chair of the Nominations Committee (nicole-biamonte@uiowa.edu) on or before January 15, 2010.

We look forward to seeing everyone in Oxford this spring!

Respectfully submitted,

Stan Kleppinger for the Executive Board:

President: Jay Hook (Indiana University): juhook@indiana.edu Secretary: Stan Kleppinger (University of Nebraska-Lincoln):

skleppinger2@unl.edu

Treasurer: Gretchen Foley (University of Nebraska-Lincoln): gfoley2@unl.edu

Area I Representative: Leigh VanHandel (Michigan State University)

Area II Representative: Steven Rings (University of Chicago)
Area III Representative: Robert Cook (University of Iowa)

Area IV Representative: Elizabeth Margulis (University of Arkansas)

Student Representative, Areas I/III: Jessica Barnett (University of Cincinnati-

CCM)

Student Representative, Areas II/IV: Mitch Ohriner (Indiana University)