# **MUSIC THEORY MIDWEST**

<www.wmich.edu/mus-theo/mtmw/>

#### PRESIDENT

Ronald Rodman Music Department Carleton College Northfield MN 55057 <rrodman@carleton.edu>



#### SECRETARY

Shersten Johnson Department of Music University of St. Thomas St. Paul, MN 55105 <srjohnson2@stthomas.edu>

#### TREASURER

Gretchen C. Foley University of Nebraska-Lincoln 230 Westbrook Music Building Lincoln, NE 68588-0100 <gfoley2@unl.edu>



# **MTMW Winter Newsletter**



## 20 December 2007

Happy Holidays from the MTMW Executive Board! We wish you an exciting and productive year. It's already time to finalize plans for the Society's spring activities.

## **2008 Conference**

Our Nineteenth Annual Conference will be held May 16-17, 2008 at Bowling Green State University in Bowling Green, Ohio. Our keynote speaker will be John Covach, Professor of Music Theory at Eastman School of Music.

The program committee is comprised of Karen Fournier (University of Michigan), Mitch Ohriner (Indiana University), Elizabeth Sayrs (Ohio University), Jean Littlejohn (Iowa City), Philip Stoecker (Oberlin College Conservatory), Ronald Rodman (Carleton College), ex officio. We look forward to a diverse and stimulating program!

Local Arrangements committee co-chairs, Per F. Broman and Nora Engebretsen are happy to welcome you to Bowling Green. 50 hotel rooms are being held, 25 each at 2 locations, for May 15 -17 (Thursday -Saturday nights):

Falcon Plaza Best Western (419) 352-4671, single/double \$69.95-79.95 plus tax per night, must be reserved by April 1.

Holiday Inn Express (419) 353-5500, single/double \$99 plus tax per night, must be reserved by April 15.

The group name for both is Music Theory Midwest. The conference site is an easy walk from the Best Western; the Holiday Inn Express is not ideal for those without cars. The Best Western also offers shuttle service from the Toledo Express airport, for those flying in and not interested in renting a car. Detroit Metro Airport is just 70 minutes away and Cleveland Hopkins International Airport 105 minutes. There will be a conference dinner on Saturday night at a local restaurant, Cucina di Betto.

Full details of the May conference will be available on the MTMW Website: http://www.wmich.edu/~mustheo/mtmw/.

#### AREA REPRESENTATIVES

Catherine Losada (University of Cincinnati, College-Conservatory of Music) Stan Kleppinger (University of Nebraska-Lincoln) Matthew Bribitzer-Stull (University of Minnesota) Scott Murphy (University of Kansas)

STUDENT REPRESENTATIVES Timothy Best (Indiana University) Christopher Brody (University of Minnesota) WEBMASTER David Loberg Code (Western Michigan University)

### 2008 Membership

Please see the enclosed Invitation to Membership and Membership Forms. Please send the form with your check (payable to MTMW) to Gretchen Foley, MTMW Treasurer, at the address on the form. Pass the second form along to interested colleagues and students. Dues for 2008 remain at \$15 for regular membership, \$10 for student/emeritus, and \$20 for joint membership. *Please renew soon, to ensure the continued financial health of our organization, and to be eligible to vote in the election.* 

# Elections

During 2008, the terms of Secretary, Area II Representative (IL, IN, WI), Area IV representative (AR, KS, MO, OK, TN) and Areas I and III Student Representative (KY, MI, OH, IA, MN, NE, ND, SD), will expire. The Executive Board has appointed a nominating committee to develop a slate of candidates. Nominations (including self-nominations) are welcome. Qualified nominees will be music theorists who teach or are otherwise engaged in theory studies in the Midwest. Area representatives must reside and/or teach in the areas that they represent. Student representatives should be engaged in graduate studies, and should expect to continue their student status for at least one year after taking office. Students may not serve as officers or area representatives. All officers of the Executive Committee are expected to attend plenary sessions and the business meeting at the annual conference. Further information concerning the duties of Executive Committee Officers, or election procedures, is available on the MTMW Website, at <a href="http://www.wmich.edu/~mus-theo/mtmw/">http://www.wmich.edu/~mus-theo/mtmw/</a>.

Please fill out the enclosed nomination form and send it to Catherine Losada, MTMW Nominating Committee, University of Cincinnati, College-Conservatory of Music, PO Box 210003, Cincinnati, OH 45221-0003, or as an e-mail attachment to losadacc@ucmail.uc.edu <<u>mailto:losadacc@ucmail.uc.edu</u>>. Please postmark by January 15<sup>th</sup>.

# **Call for Papers**

The Music Theory Midwest (MTMW) Program Committee invites proposals for individual presentations on any topic of music theory and analysis. Papers on all theoretical and analytical topics will be considered, and since BGSU is home of the Center for Popular Culture Studies, the committee especially encourages proposals devoted to the analysis of popular music. All presentations will be limited to 20 minutes, followed by 10 minutes for questions. A proposal for an individual presentation should contain a cover letter—this should include the author's name and e-mail address, the paper title, and any special equipment required for the presentation—and an abstract (not to exceed 500 words and must be anonymous). Supplementary materials, such as musical examples and diagrams, may be included and will not count toward the word limit.

Please mail the cover letter and six anonymous copies of the abstract to: Philip Stoecker, Program Chair, MTMW 2008, Oberlin College Conservatory, 77 W. College St., Oberlin, OH 44074. **POSTMARK DEADLINE: January 9, 2008**. To submit electronically, go to <<u>www.wmich.edu/mus-theo/mtmw/submit/cover.html</u>. Electronic submissions must be PDFs.

The Arthur J. Komar Award for the best student paper will be presented at the end of the conference. Student presenters who wish to be considered for the Komar Award should indicate this in their cover letters. For the purposes of this award, "student" status terminates with the receipt of a terminal degree or employment in a full-time position. *The complete CFP is included in this mailing*.

If you have items you would like to include in the March conference mailing, please send them to Shersten Johnson, MTMW Secretary, University of St. Thomas, 2115 Summit Avenue, #BEC 9, St. Paul, MN 55105, <a href="mailto:srjohnson2@stthomas.edu">srjohnson2@stthomas.edu</a>.

See you in Bowling Green! Shersten Johnson, MTMW Secretary