#### MUSIC THEORY MIDWEST – Fall 2007 Newsletter

*In this issue:* 

- Save the date MTMW 19<sup>th</sup> Annual Conference at BGSU May 16-17, 2008
- Call for Papers (Deadline: January 9, 2008)
- Local Arrangements Information for Bowling Green
- MTMW Membership Reminder
- MTMW 2008 Elections Call for Nominations

# MTMW 19<sup>th</sup> ANNUAL CONFERENCE AT BGSU

Greetings from the Music Theory Midwest Executive Committee. We are in the midst of planning for our Nineteenth Annual Conference, to be held May 16-17, 2008 at Bowling Green State University in Bowling Green, Ohio. Our keynote speaker will be John Covach, Professor of Music Theory at Eastman School of Music. Save the date!

#### CALL FOR PAPERS.

The Music Theory Midwest (MTMW) Program Committee invites proposals for individual presentations on any topic of music theory and analysis for its 19<sup>th</sup> annual conference held on the campus of Bowling Green State University. Papers on all theoretical and analytical topics will be considered, and since BGSU is home of the Center for Popular Culture Studies, the committee especially encourages proposals devoted to the analysis of popular music. All presentations will be limited to 20 minutes, followed by 10 minutes for questions. A proposal for an individual presentation should contain a cover letter—this should include the author's name and e-mail address, the paper title, and any special equipment required for the presentation—and an abstract (not to exceed 500 words and must be anonymous). Supplementary materials, such as musical examples and diagrams, may be included and will not count toward the word limit.

Please mail the cover letter and six anonymous copies of the abstract to: Philip Stoecker, Program Chair, MTMW 2008, Oberlin College Conservatory, 77 W. College St., Oberlin, OH 44074. POSTMARK DEADLINE: January 9, 2008. To submit electronically, go to <a href="https://www.wmich.edu/mus-theo/mtmw/submit/cover.html">www.wmich.edu/mus-theo/mtmw/submit/cover.html</a>. Electronic submissions must be PDFs.

The Arthur J. Komar Award for the best student paper will be presented at the end of the conference. Student presenters who wish to be considered for the Komar Award should indicate this in their cover letters. For the purposes of this award, "student" status terminates with the receipt of a terminal degree or employment in a full-time position.

#### LOCAL ARRANGEMENTS.

Local Arrangements committee co-chairs, Per F. Broman and Nora Engebretsen are happy to welcome you to Bowling Green, Ohio, for the Nineteenth Annual Conference of MTMW. 50 hotel rooms are being held, 25 each at 2 locations, for May 15 -17 (Thursday -Saturday nights):

Falcon Plaza Best Western (419) 352-4671, single/double \$69.95-79.95 plus tax per night, must be reserved by April 1

Holiday Inn Express (419) 353-5500, single/double \$99 plus tax per night, must be reserved by April 15

The group name for both is Music Theory Midwest. The conference site is an easy walk from the Best Western; the Holiday Inn Express is not ideal for those without cars. The Best Western also offers shuttle service from the Toledo Express airport, for those flying in and not interested in renting a car. Detroit Metro Airport is just 70 minutes away and Cleveland Hopkins International Airport 105 minutes. There will be a conference dinner on Saturday night at a local restaurant, Cucina di Betto.

### MTMW MEMBERSHIP REMINDER

Every effort has been made to send this electronic newsletter to all current members of Music Theory Midwest. If you know persons who have not received this mailing, please pass it along and encourage them to check their membership status with Gretchen Foley, <a href="mailto:gfoley@unlnotes.unl.edu">gfoley@unlnotes.unl.edu</a>

Annual dues remain at \$15 for regular membership, \$20 for joint membership, and \$10 for student or emeritus. Donations to the Arthur J. Komar Student Award are always welcome.

## MTMW ELECTIONS – CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

During 2008, the terms of Secretary, Area II Representative (IL, IN, WI), Area IV representative (AR, KS, MO, OK, TN) and Areas I and III Student Representative (KY, MI, OH, IA, MN, NE, ND, SD), will expire. The Executive Board has appointed a nominating committee to develop a slate of candidates, chaired by Catherine Losada (University of Cincinnati). Nominations (including self-nominations) are welcome, and should be sent to Catherine Losada, MTMW Nominating Committee, University of Cincinnati, College-Conservatory of Music, PO Box 210003, Cincinnati, OH 45221-0003, or via e-mail at <a href="losadacc@ucmail.uc.edu">losadacc@ucmail.uc.edu</a>.

Qualified nominees will be music theorists who teach or are otherwise engaged in theory studies in the Midwest. Area representatives must reside and/or teach in the areas that they represent. Student representatives should be engaged in graduate studies, and should expect to continue their student status for at least one year after taking office. Students may not serve as officers or area representatives. All officers of the Executive Committee are expected to attend plenary sessions and the business meeting at the annual conference. Further information concerning the duties of Executive Committee Officers, or election procedures, is available on the MTMW Website, at <a href="http://www.wmich.edu/~mus-theo/mtmw/">http://www.wmich.edu/~mus-theo/mtmw/</a>.

We look forward to seeing everyone in Bowling Green this spring!

Respectfully submitted,

Shersten Johnson, MTMW Secretary <a href="mailto:srjohnson2@stthomas.edu">srjohnson2@stthomas.edu</a>, for the Executive Board:

Ronald Rodman, MTMW President <a href="mailto:rrodman@carleton.edu">rrodman@carleton.edu</a>
Gretchen Foley, MTMW Treasurer <a href="mailto:gfoley@unlnotes.unl.edu">gfoley@unlnotes.unl.edu</a>
Catherine Losada (Area I Representative), Stan Kleppinger (Area II Representative), Matthew Bribitzer-Stull (Area III Representative), Scott Murphy (Area IV Representative), Timothy Best (Student Representative from Areas II & IV), and Christopher Brody (Student Representative from Areas I & III).