MUSIC THEORY MIDWEST

<www.wmich.edu/mus-theo/mtmw/>

PRESIDENT

Claire Boge Department of Music Miami University Oxford, OH 45056 <bogecl@muohio.edu> SECRETARY

Shersten Johnson Department of Music University of St. Thomas St. Paul, MN 55105 <srjohnson2@stthomas.edu>

TREASURER

Ronald Rodman Music Department Carleton College Northfield, MN 55057 <rrodman@carleton.edu>

17 January 2006

Happy New Year from the MTMW Executive Board! We wish you an exciting and productive year. It's time to look forward to the Society's spring activities.

• 2006 Membership

We would like to encourage everyone to renew their memberships early this year. Two membership forms for 2006 are enclosed. Please send one with your check (payable to MTMW) to Ronald Rodman, MTMW Treasurer, at the address above. Pass the second form along to interested colleagues and students. Dues for 2006 remain at \$15 for regular membership, \$10 for student/emeritus, and \$20 for joint membership. *Please renew soon, to ensure the continued financial health of our organization, and to be eligible to vote in the election.* Every effort has been made to send this newsletter to all current members of Music Theory Midwest (the year 2005 appears on your mailing label). If you know people who have not received this mailing, please pass it along and encourage them to check their membership status with Ron.

• 2006 Elections

Elections will be held this spring for the offices of Secretary, Area Representative for Area II (Illinois, Indiana, Wisconsin), Area Representative for Area IV (Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri, Oklahoma, Tennessee), and Student Representative for Areas I and III (Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota). Ballots will be sent under separate cover. Online voting will also be available.

Next year's elections will be held for President, Treasurer, Area I Representative (Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio), Area III Representative (Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota), and Student representative for Areas II and IV (Illinois, Indiana, Wisconsin, Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri, Oklahoma, and Tennessee). If you are interested in serving on a future MTMW committee or as an officer, please feel free to volunteer by contacting any member of the board listed on the letterhead. We enthusiastically welcome as much participation as you are willing to give!

AREA REPRESENTATIVES

Karl Braunschweig (Wayne State University) Julian ("Jay") Hook (Indiana University) Gretchen Foley (University of Nebraska-Lincoln) Neil Minturn (University of Missouri-Columbia) STUDENT REPRESENTATIVES Melissa Hoag (Indiana University) Joseph Hupchick (University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music) WEBMASTER David Loberg Code (Western Michigan University)

• 2006 Conference

Music Theory Midwest's Seventeenth Annual Conference will be held May 12-13, 2006 at Ball State University in Muncie, Indiana. Our keynote speaker will be Gregory Proctor (Ohio State University).

The program committee, chaired by Julian Hook (Indiana University), is comprised of Stuart Deaver (Indiana University), Melissa Hoag (Indiana University), Nadine Hubbs (University of Michigan), Lee Blasius (University of Wisconsin), Ron Rodman (Carleton College), and Claire Boge (Miami University). We look forward to a diverse and stimulating program!

The Local Arrangements committee is making preparations for our May meeting in Muncie. A Saturday-night banquet will be held at Vera Mae's Bistro in downtown Muncie in the restored historic Ballaird Hall. Information on Hotel and travel will be announced shortly. For more information on local arrangements, contact Eleanor Trawick, chair at eftrawick@iquest.net.

Muncie (see www.muncie.com and www.munciedowntown.com) is in east central Indiana, approximately halfway between Indianapolis and Ft. Wayne. It is somewhat convenient to the Indianapolis, Ft. Wayne, and Dayton (OH) airports, all about 90 minutes' drive away. Representative driving times from other Midwestern cities: Cleveland, 5 hrs.; Columbus and Cincinnati, Ohio, 2.5 hrs.; Detroit, 5 hrs.; Bloomington, IN, 2 hrs.; Chicago, 4 hrs.; Louisville, 3 hrs.; St. Louis, 5 hrs. Notable cultural figures from east central Indiana include Cole Porter (Peru, IN), James Dean (Fairmount), and novelist and naturalist Gene Stratton Porter (Geneva).

The School of Music at Ball State University (see www.bsu.edu/music) has about 500 undergraduate majors and about 100 graduate students in master's, doctoral, and artist's diploma programs. It offers degrees in Music Composition, Music Education, Music Performance, and Music Technology. The MTMW conference will take place in the school's Music Instruction Building, which opened in the fall of 2004 and which houses performance studios, the 600-seat Sursa Performance Hall, and state-of-the-art music technology and recording studios.

Full details of the May conference will be available on the MTMW Website: <u>http://www.wmich.edu/~mus-theo/mtmw/</u>.

If you have items you would like to include in the March conference mailing, please send them to Shersten Johnson, MTMW Secretary, University of St. Thomas, 2115 Summit Avenue, #BEC 9, St. Paul, MN 55105, srjohnson2@stthomas.edu.

See you in Muncie! Shersten Johnson, MTMW Secretary