30 November 2006 Dear MTMW Colleague:

GREETINGS FROM THE MUSIC THEORY MIDWEST EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE.

We are in the midst of planning for our Eighteenth Annual Conference, to be held on Friday and Saturday, April 13-14, 2007 at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas. Our keynote speaker will be Severine Neff. Save the date!

CALL FOR PAPERS.

The program committee invites proposals for individual presentations on any area of music theory. Music Theory Midwest has a tradition of encouraging papers on composers, musicians, or compositions celebrating significant anniversaries. Among those with birth or death anniversaries in 2007 are: Dieterich Buxtehude (d. 1707), Domenico Scarlatti (d. 1757), Johann Stamitz (d. 1757), Carl Czerny (d. 1857), Joseph Eichendorff (poet; d. 1857), Edward Elgar (b. 1857), Mikhail Glinka (d. 1857), Cab Calloway (b. 1907), Benny Carter (b. 1907), Edvard Grieg (d. 1907), Ludwig Thuille (theorist; d. 1907), Alec Wilder (b. 1907), and Erich Wolfgang Korngold (d. 1957). The committee also encourages proposals for special sessions devoted to a single work, illustrating a variety of analytical and interpretive viewpoints.

Proposals may be submitted either on paper or electronically, according to the following guidelines. Paper submission. Send one cover letter and seven copies of the abstract, postmarked no later than 16 January 2007, to: David Carson Berry Program Chair, MTMW 2007 University of Cincinnati, College-Conservatory of Music PO Box 210003 Cincinnati, OH 45221-0003 To submit electronically, go to www.wmich.edu/mus-theo/mtmw/submit/cover.html no later than 16 January 2007. For more information, see the complete Call for Papers attached.

LOCAL ARRANGEMENTS.

The Local Arrangements committee, chaired by Deron McGee of the University of Kansas, is making preparations for our April meeting in Lawrence. The conference will be highlighted by a large program Friday evening around the theme of decadence and the circus, featuring the KU Wind Ensemble performing John Corigliano's new symphony: Circus Maximus, Florent Schmidt's Dioanysiaques, Persichetti's Masquarade, and William Schuman's Circus Overture. Information on Hotel and travel will be announced shortly.

MTMW MEMBERSHIP.

Every effort has been made to send this electronic newsletter to all current members of Music Theory Midwest. If you know persons who have not received this mailing, please pass it along and encourage them to check their membership status with Ronald Rodman, Music Department, Carleton College, 1 North College Street, Northfield, MN 55057. rrodman@carleton.edu.

Annual dues remain at \$15 for regular membership, \$20 for joint membership, and \$10 for student or emeritus. Donations to the Arthur J. Komar Student Award are always welcome.

MTMW ELECTIONS.

The Music Theory Midwest Nominations Committee requests nominations or self-nominations for the following Executive Committee offices, to serve terms from September 2007 through August 2009: President, Treasurer, Area I Representative (Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio), Area III Representative (Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota), and Student Representative for Areas II and IV (Illinois, Indiana, Wisconsin, Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri, Oklahoma, Tennessee).

Qualified nominees will be music theorists who teach or are otherwise engaged in theory studies in the Midwest. Area representatives must reside and/or teach in the areas that they represent. Student representatives should be engaged in graduate studies, and should expect to continue their student status for at least one year after taking office. Students may not serve as officers or area representatives. All officers of the Executive Committee are expected to attend plenary sessions and the business meeting at the annual conference. Further information concerning the duties of Executive Committee Officers, or election procedures, is available on the MTMW Website, at http://www.wmich.edu/~mus-theo/mtmw/.

Nominations should be submitted via email to Claire Boge: bogecl@muohio.edu. Deadline for Nominations is January 15.

We look forward to seeing everyone in Lawrence this spring.

Best wishes.

Shersten Johnson, MTMW Secretary srjohnson2@stthomas.edu, for the Executive Board:

Claire Boge, MTMW President bogecl@po.muohio.edu
Ronald Rodman, MTMW Treasurer rrodman@carleton.edu

Karl Braunschweig (Area I Representative), Stan Kleppinger (Area II Representative), Gretchen Foley (Area III Representative), Scott Murphy (Area IV Representative), Melissa Hoag (Student Representative from Areas II & IV), and Christopher Brody (Student Representative from Areas I & III).