5 November 2005 Dear MTMW Colleague:

GREETINGS FROM THE MUSIC THEORY MIDWEST EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE.

We are in the midst of planning for our Seventeenth Annual Conference, to be held on May 12-13, 2006 at Ball State University in Muncie, Indiana. **Our keynote speaker will be** Save the date!

CALL FOR PAPERS.

Proposals for individual presentations and Special Sessions involving any area of music theory are welcome. Music Theory Midwest has a tradition of encouraging papers on composers, musicians, or compositions celebrating significant anniversaries; some possibilities in 2006 include Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (born 1756), Robert Schumann (died 1856), Schoenberg's Chamber Symphony No. 1 (1906), Milton Babbitt (born 1916), Bartók's 44 Violin Duos (1931), Ravel's two piano concertos (1931), Ruth Crawford's String Quartet (1931), Steve Reich (born 1936), Stravinsky's *Canticum sacrum* (1956), and Stockhausen's *Klavierstück XI* (1956). Special sessions devoted to a single work, illustrating a variety of analytical and interpretive viewpoints, are also encouraged.

The deadline for proposals is January 17, 2006. Proposals may be submitted in two ways: online at www.wmich.edu/mus-theo/mtmw/submit/cover.html, and by mail to Julian Hook, Program Chair, MTMW 2006, School of Music, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47405

For further details, consult the complete Call for Papers that will be included in the November/December mailing, or access the MTMW website given above.

LOCAL ARRANGEMENTS.

The Local Arrangements committee is making preparations for our May meeting in Muncie. A Saturday-night banquet will be held at Vera Mae's Bistro in downtown Muncie in the restored historic Ballaird Hall. Information on Hotel and travel will be announced shortly.

About Muncie: Muncie (see www.muncie.com and www.munciedowntown.com) is in east central Indiana, approximately halfway between Indianapolis and Ft. Wayne. It is somewhat convenient to the Indianapolis, Ft. Wayne, and Dayton (OH) airports, all about 90 minutes' drive away. Representative driving times from other Midwestern cities: Cleveland, 5 hrs.; Columbus and Cincinnati, Ohio, 2.5 hrs.; Detroit, 5 hrs.; Bloomington, IN, 2 hrs.; Chicago, 4 hrs.; Louisville, 3 hrs.; St. Louis, 5 hrs. Notable cultural figures from east central Indiana include Cole Porter (Peru, IN), James Dean (Fairmount), and novelist and naturalist Gene Stratton Porter (Geneva).

About Ball State University: The School of Music at Ball State University (see www.bsu.edu/music) has about 500 undergraduate majors and about 100 graduate students in master's, doctoral, and artist's diploma programs. We offer degrees in Music Composition, Music Education, Music Performance, and Music Technology. The MTMW conference will take place in the school's Music Instruction Building, which opened in the fall of 2004 and which houses performance studios, the 600-seat Sursa Performance Hall, and state-of-the-art music technology and recording studios. For more information on local arrangements, contact Eleanor Trawick,

chair at eftrawick@iquest.net.

MTMW MEMBERSHIP.

Every effort has been made to send this electronic newsletter to all current members of Music Theory Midwest (for the year 2005). If you know persons who have not received this mailing, please pass it along and encourage them to check their membership status with Ronald Rodman, Music Department, Carleton College, 1 North College Street, Northfield, MN 55057. rrodman@carleton.edu.

Annual dues remain at \$15 for regular membership, \$20 for joint membership, and \$10 for student or emeritus. Donations to the Arthur J. Komar Student Award are always welcome.

MTMW ELECTIONS.

The Music Theory Midwest Nominations Committee requests nominations or self-nominations for the following Executive Committee offices, to serve terms from September 2006 through August 2008: Secretary, Area II Representative (Illinois, Indiana, Wisconsin), Area IV Representative (Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri, Okalahoma, Tennessee), and Student Representative for Areas I and III (Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota).

Qualified nominees will be music theorists who teach or are otherwise engaged in theory studies in the Midwest. Area representatives must reside and/or teach in the areas that they represent. Student representatives should be engaged in graduate studies, and should expect to continue their student status for at least one year after taking office. Students may not serve as officers or area representatives. All officers of the Executive Committee are expected to attend plenary sessions and the business meeting at the annual conference. Further information concerning the duties of Executive Committee Officers, or election procedures, is available on the MTMW Website, at http://www.wmich.edu/~mus-theo/mtmw/.

The nominations committee consists of Nominations should be submitted via email to Deadline for Nominations is November 15.

We look forward to seeing everyone at SMT in Boston this week, and at MTMW in Muncie this spring.

Best wishes,

Shersten Johnson, MTMW Secretary srjohnson2@stthomas.edu, for the Executive Board:

Claire Boge, MTMW President <u>bogecl@po.muohio.edu</u> Ronald Rodman, MTMW Treasurer <u>rrodman@carleton.edu</u>

Karl Braunschweig (Area I Representative), Julian ("Jay") Hook (Area II Representative), Gretchen Foley (Area III Representative), Neil Minturn (Area IV Representative), Melissa Hoag (Student Representative from Areas II & IV), and Joseph Hupchick (Student Representative from Areas I & III).