Music Theory Midwest 2017 Conference Information

Twenty-Eighth Annual Conference, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, May 19–20


General Information

Music Theory Midwest will hold its twenty-eighth conference on May 19 and 20, 2017 at the University of Iowa in Iowa City.

Keynote Abstract

This year's keynote address will be given by Nolan and is entitled "Anton Webern's Late Music in the Context of Postmodern Modernism." Catherine Nolan is Associate Dean (Graduate Studies) in music at the Don Wright Faculty of Music at the University of Western Ontario. Her research interests focus on theoretical, analytical, and critical issues surrounding modernist music of the twentieth century, particularly the late music of Anton Webern, Webern's creative partnership with poet (and painter) Hildegard Jone, and on the history and timeless expression of mathematical models in music theory. Her publications have appeared in Journal of Music Theory, Music Theory Spectrum, Music Theory Online, Journal of Mathematics and Music, and in edited collections, including The Cambridge History of Western Music Theory, The Princeton Companion to Mathematics. Her essay on Canada's first serial composer, John Weinzweig, appeared in Weinzweig: Essays on His Life and Music.

Local Information

Local Arrangements Chair: Matthew Arndt (University of Iowa)

Call for Proposals

Music Theory Midwest invites scholars from all geographic regions to submit proposals on any area of music theory and analysis. As is traditional at MTMW, we encourage proposals on composers, musicians, and events with significant anniversaries in 2017, and we welcome proposals for special sessions devoted to these or any other particular topic.

Click here for complete details.

Program Committee

Leslie David Blasius (University of Wisconsin-Madison), Chair

Julian Hook (Indiana University)
Rebecca Perry (Yale University)
Steven Cahn (University of Cincinnati)
Aleksandra Vojcic (University of Michigan)
Daniel Barolsky (Beloit College)
Lawrence Zbikowski (University of Chicago) ex-officio as MTMW President

Pre-Conference Workshop

Information about the workshop will be announced soon.

joomla 1.6 templates free
Contact the MTMW Web Manager
By Joomla 1.6 templates free